Metallica: Ride the Lightning – Vinyl LP. 180g


Out of stock


Metallica: Ride the Lightning – Vinyl LP

Note: This product is for delivery to Australia only.  This is not a download, but a physical vinyl LP.

Ask any Metallica fan and they will tell you that Ride the Lightning was one of the albums of the band at their peak.  For any music lover it is a great listen to discover some of the origins of the “Heavy Metal” genre.  The instrumental work on this album is particularly mind blowing.  Highlights include the run of three songs: Ride the Lightning, For whom the Bell Tolls, Fade to Black.

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Digitally remastered edition of the second studio album by Metallica, originally released in 1984. The album was recorded in three weeks with producer Flemming Rasmussen at the Sweet Silence Studios in Copenhagen, Denmark. The artwork, based on a concept by the band, depicts an electric chair in the midst of a thunderstorm. The title was taken from a passage in Stephen King’s novel The Stand. Although rooted in the thrash metal genre, the album showcased the band’s musical maturity and lyrical sophistication. This was partly because bassist Cliff Burton introduced the basics of music theory to the rest of the band and had more input in the songwriting. Instead of relying strictly on fast tempos as on Kill ‘Em All, Metallica broadened its approach by employing acoustic guitars, extended instrumentals, and more complex harmonies.

Product is shipped in a purpose designed corflute Vinyl LP flatpack.

Track Listing:

1 Fight Fire with Fire

2 Ride the Lightning

3 For Whom the Bell Tolls

4 Fade to Black

5 Trapped Under Ice

6 Escape

7 Creeping Death

8 The Call of Ktulu